Training- New to this

Rookie1719

Training- New to this

Post by Rookie1719 » Mon Sep 25, 2023 9:21 am

Hi Everyone,

First off I’m new to the forum, I was recommended by a member who saw my post in a different forum. I’d like to thank the admins for the add, I look forward to interacting here.

I’m 31 years old from southern Ontario (Windsor area). I recently bought a GSP, who is now 4 months (5 months October 1st). I’m trying to find someone in my area or a few hours drive (Michigan or Ontario) to help me out.

I have no experience with training a dog for hunting purposes. I’ve introduced wings/feathers and gunshots with the pup so far.

I’ve googled watched videos on YouTube, but I need help with what I should do. I don’t want to waste his abilities, we want to give him all the support we can.

If anyone can point me in the right direction I’d be very appreciative and thankful.

His names Jax.

mask

Re: Training- New to this

Post by mask » Mon Sep 25, 2023 12:14 pm

Buy the book Training with Mo. It will give you the foundation that will help you through the training process. Best to you and your pup and welcome to the forum.

jmez

Post by jmez » Mon Sep 25, 2023 8:42 pm

Buy the book Training Pointing Dogs by Paul Long.

Short and easy to follow.

Sent from my moto g power 5G - 2023 using Tapatalk

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Post by Sharon » Tue Sep 26, 2023 8:44 am

Welcome. So glad you took my advice. You'll get good help here. Let me know anytime I can help you with your use of the forum. :)
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Post by RayGubernat » Tue Sep 26, 2023 9:59 am

Rookie-

Welcome.