Recommended Training/Tracking Collars

BlessedGirl

Recommended Training/Tracking Collars

Post by BlessedGirl » Mon Feb 07, 2022 4:35 pm

What is your favorite GPS collar and why?

What is your favorite training/e-collar collar and why?
"Heaven isn't for good people. Heaven is for forgiven people."

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Re: Recommended Training/Tracking Collars

Post by RayGubernat » Mon Feb 07, 2022 9:41 pm

BG -

As far as GPS's are concerned, I have and like the Astro 430. I use it with GPS ONLY collars since I field trial. I honestly would not recommend the 430 or anything like it for both tracking and e-collar corrections because, if you have to look at the screen to issue a correction...you ain't looking at the dog and your timing is waaaaay off.

I have an ancient Tritronics Flyway Special that I have been using for about 25 years now. If I need to issue a correction i can reach down and press the button I need without even looking. I use it a LOT, especially when doing obedience work with the collar on the dog's neck. I recently acquired a DT 1825 that has way more features than I need, but I use it in one mode and can pretty much duplicate the performance i have with the older tritronics. I do like the DT because it gives me the option of using a vibrate cue and a tone cue. I actually use the DT a lot on the dog's waist when doing whoa work, because iIcan set the collar on VERY low stim (like 1) and get a response. One the dog has been tickled a few times, the collar on vibrate on the waist is generally all that is needed to cue the dog. If the dog is not being a total brickhead, the vibrate may be all it needs to remind them of what I want, even when it is on the neck.

The only thing I use the tone feature for is an overlay on "come in", and it seems to work pretty well for that.

If I could only have one unit, i would seriously consider the Garmin unit that has the barrel type transmitter with the GPS arrow at the base of the barrel.