Old dog, new trick: Training a rescue

Bdg848

Old dog, new trick: Training a rescue

Post by Bdg848 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:06 pm

Hello all, a couple years ago I adopted a 7 year old GSP from the humane society. He is 9 now. I have no idea what his background is or what experience with birds he had but based on how he handles birds, my guess is none. He has insane bird drive but won't point on scent. He will follow scent in until he flushes the bird and then chases. I got some pigeons to train on and thought we were making progress; when we came in at a right angle to the scent cone at about 10 yards, he would turn and point nicely and then I'd add a little correction on the lead when he thought about moving.

Today, however, we came into the field from the down wind side. He caught scent and worked that scent cone in to about 5 yards before I had to stop him with the lead or else he would have caught my carded pigeon. He basically did this for all the birds I put out, following scent in until he saw the bird or I stop him, a total contrast to coming in at a right angle.

I have some homing pigeons that will be ready to fly in a month or two and I plan on getting a remote launcher (side note: if any one has some used remote launchers to sell, I am a buyer.) I plan going back a step with the homers and launchers and bring him in from a right angle to the wind again and pop the birds if he moves after the initial point. What should I be doing beyond that? How far down wind should I bring him in? I've been doing about 10. Should I bring him in farther downwind? When we come in from straight down wind, how far out do I pop the birds when he is working that scene cone in? First scent? Solid face full of scent?

I have a young dog who is progressing very well and hope to hunt both dogs together and I would love to get the old boy to a point where I could see him hunt a few seasons with the young dog before he gets too old. I'd appreciate any tips you could offer. Thanks.