English Setter Pup - Aggression or Not?

SeaES

English Setter Pup - Aggression or Not?

Post by SeaES » Thu Feb 04, 2021 1:33 am

Hey All - This post is going to be a long one, so forewarned is forearmed. I'm putting as much info as I can here to try and be as thorough as possible. I have been reading the forum for months and have learned so much, so thank you all for the great content. So here goes with my new puppy help request:

I brought home an English Setter on January 2nd. It was coincidentally my daughters birthday, but make no mistake it is MY hunting dog! Perhaps that says a little about my priorities? Or maybe more my propensity for self delusion. Either way I'm a first time dog trainer and have a lot to learn. I extensively researched breeds, temperaments, lines and pedigrees - all of that stuff. I really tried to make a good and smart decision about something that would be a family partner for 10+ years. I have a fenced yard and we're an active family with 2 kids I wanted a good active hunting dog that could hike with our family all year round, run the beach in the summer, hunt in the fall and chill with the kids in the house once we're home. I was torn between an english setter and a Brittany and went with a setter because out of pure luck I stumbled on a field trial judge who breeds from time to time and had a VERY compelling litter with great lines.

The pup is now exactly 3 months old to the day.

We're making lot's of progress. He is house broken. He is doing great with his woah training. He's walking on a loose leash. He knows "drop it" and "down". I am not training "sit" or "fetch" at the moment as I am hearing mixed messages about those. All in all, he is making GREAT progress. At least I think. I am a first time primary dog owner and trainer. Here lies the rub.