Rabbit Hunting with Drahthaar

uplandviz

Rabbit Hunting with Drahthaar

Post by uplandviz » Tue Feb 04, 2020 5:59 pm

I know this is a dumb question- hence why I’m asking on here haha

Anyone hunt rabbits with a drahthaar? If so, what is the proper way? Does the dog point then flush and chase? Just chase?

I’m new to the drahthaar world and loving it. My dogs 1 and we had a great upland season. We are easing into waterfowl. She is obsessed with rabbits. Tracking them through the woods but she holds point and watches the rabbit run! Not sure if I should be training anything specific.
Life is too short not to get lost in the woods once in awhile

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: Rabbit Hunting with Drahthaar

Post by Sharon » Tue Feb 04, 2020 8:34 pm

I don't know anyone who hunts rabbit with a pointing breed except for maybe an accidental flush of a hare. If the dog just stands and points after the flushing of the rabbit, how do you get a shot away? The point of using a hound is that the hound brings the rabbit around so you can get a good shot. I'm confused. :)
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

uplandviz

Post by uplandviz » Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:21 pm

Drahthaar isn’t a pointer. They hunt rabbits- that’s my question to those who have used them to hunt- was it natural for the dog to chase? Did you train to break?
Life is too short not to get lost in the woods once in awhile

RatDog

Post by RatDog » Tue Feb 04, 2020 10:17 pm

Seems like that’s just a fancy way of saying German wirehair which is a pointer, right? You hunt rabbits with hound dogs, most commonly beagles. It’s an absolute riot. Nothing funnier/cooler than watching a pack of beagles swarming all over the place. Once they get on the scent and flush the rabbit they chase and you try and shoot it without hitting the dogs. Probably not something you want to teach a bird dog how to do.