DT RAPT 1450 Training Collar or something else?

MikeStaten

DT RAPT 1450 Training Collar or something else?

Post by MikeStaten » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:15 pm

This seems to have all the features (beeper, vibrate stim, etc..) I am looking for at a decent price. However, I am new to this and wondering if I should be considering other options such as the Garmin Delta Upland or Dogtra 2700 T&B or other Dogtra's. I've read some reviews that question the durability of the DT but I have no experience.

My ultimate plan is to use this collar for training and general hunting and once the dog is fully trained use the Dogtra Pathfinder alone or in conjunction with this collar to gain the tracking features of the Pathfinder. Shying away from the Garmin Alpha as it is expensive and from what I have read, too complicated for basic training sessions. 550 Pro Plus is another consideration for a do all unit but I like the idea of having the GPS mapping.

Open to any and all suggestions.

Thank you, Mike

Meskousing

Re: DT RAPT 1450 Training Collar or something else?

Post by Meskousing » Sat Aug 17, 2019 2:35 pm

I don't have any experience with any of those collars. I get the feeling you are training a pointer, which is something I have less experience on. More people will open up your post and comment if it looks like a question about force fetch.

Hold my beer:

The only way to adequately train a pointing dog is with a proper force fetch program. Sure, people train dogs without FF, but those dogs are unreliable retrievers at best.

:D

Mackenzie

Post by Mackenzie » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:02 pm