A Novice and his Dog

connorj

A Novice and his Dog

Post by connorj » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:10 am

Hello All,

My name is Connor and I am currently raising a 1 yo Lab/Pointer Mix. She has been showing good signs in her obedience and retrieving. I am new to gun dog training and appreciate the wealth of knowledge available here. We are located in Southern California but my hope is that she will soon be hunting Nevada Oregon and Washington in the near future.

Timewise65

Re: A Novice and his Dog

Post by Timewise65 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:21 am

Welcome....

The hard part will be deciding if you are going to train the dog as a Pointer or Retriever. That would be determined by what you plan to use the pup for...upland game or waterfowl? Of course some of us do both, for us we train for all conditions, but you have to start out focusing on one style of hunting and then expand it after you have the basics completed.

Good Luck

connorj

Post by connorj » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:30 am

Thanks for the advice. Deciding on Pointing vs flushing dog is still a battle for me since we have had limited introductions to birds. I got her when she was 6 months so I have not had any chances to see her instinct come out but she has done what appears to be a point. I have been heavily focused on obedience, Recall,Sit,Heel,Woah. I don't know how much flushing handlers use woah but I have to imagine it is still beneficial to a flusher in case she gets birdy and I need to slow her down to catch up.

mnaj_springer

Post by mnaj_springer » Thu Feb 07, 2019 2:15 pm

I think whether you train as a flusher or pointer is going to depend the dog's instincts and how you want to hunt. If you want a flusher, you can make a flusher, but if you want a pointer, you may be subject to what the dog's instincts tell it.