Where do I go from here? Training went horribly wrong

Cactusjack

Where do I go from here? Training went horribly wrong

Post by Cactusjack » Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:35 pm

Hello all,

New member here and 1st time owner of a 14 month old GSP (Otto) that my family and I have owned since he was 8 weeks old. A little quick background info.I am new to upland hunting and never have trained a pointing dog. We have two acres that Otto runs on and this is where I primarily train him. I also have access to roughly 400 acres, but is it mostly overgrown with pine and mixed hardwoods that has minimal open area with no upland game that I know about, but he occasionally runs into a few turkey though.

Otto has been taught the basics, sit, down, stay and here and does well with those commands as well as my release command of O.K. For better or worse, and due not having access to real birds I have been using the wing on string method. He points and holds on the wing in places that are easy to see, but will rush in and flush the wing when I cast it in cover. His retrieving skills are on point and brings back the bumper to my hand.