Bluetick/Wirehair Pointer Mix

ScottB88

Bluetick/Wirehair Pointer Mix

Post by ScottB88 » Wed Oct 07, 2015 5:26 pm

Hey yall, I have a 4 month old Bluetick coonhound/German wirehair pointer mix. At first I started with pointer training (since she resemble more of that trait). She will only occasionally point, however she never points to what I am training her with. Then I started training her to scent hunt. She loves to use her nose, but she doesn't like to follow scents. So I was wondering if anyone had any advice on the matter. Should I train her to do both? Should I stick with one? I've trained retrievers but wanted a different challenge and it sure is kicking my butt. Also, I had someone tell me that she is almost useless for hunting because of the two breeds are so polar opposite. Is this true?

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: Bluetick/Wirehair Pointer Mix

Post by Sharon » Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:28 pm

Welcome to the forum.
At 4 months, I would watch and see if some specific breed characteristic is dominant. Take it slowly; let the pup just become independent in the bush and enjoy the great out- of- doors.

"Also, I had someone tell me that she is almost useless for hunting because of the two breeds are so polar opposite." quote

Never say never. Many a supposedly "useless dog" has turned out to be a fine hunting companion. Let us know how it goes. :)

( consider a locator collar as hounds like to GOOO!)
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

northwoodshunter

Post by northwoodshunter » Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:33 pm

Now, i am not positive of this, but i would guess that depending how much of each breed in it him, you could train him to point, and also track, but i would choose the one that you want to do more of and do that more thoroughly and first, and let it progress, don't rush it, then later when he has the pointing down, get him to track