Chasing tweety birds

oldbeek

Chasing tweety birds

Post by oldbeek » Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:18 pm

You guys and gals give great advise, so here is another. If you are following my posts, you can see I am a amateur but have had pointers for years. My 17 month old Brittany is bird crazy. She has always chased tweety birds. A neighboring trainer says let her chase. It is great when she was young to make her birdy. She will learn she can not catch them. Problem is she does catch them right out of the air on occasion. If 2 or 3 in a bush she points them to the degree that in a recent NSTRA trial her brace mate got a back on her solid point. Should I discourage it? If so when?

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: Chasing tweety birds

Post by Sharon » Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:46 pm

That's a new one to me.
Normally once a dog gets on to REAL birds, tweety birds become a thing of the past. That must have got some smiles at the NSTRA trial. :)
I guess you just give her exposure to as many real birds as possible. I would say NOTHING when she is on to tweety birds. Show no interest, walk away. She might decide you don't want her on birds at all otherwise. I'll be interested in what others have to say.
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

Trekmoor
GDF Junkie

Post by Trekmoor » Mon Feb 23, 2015 4:11 am

It's a new one on me with a pup of that age too. I have managed to stop pups of up to about 11 months old chasing tweety birds by sort of overloading them with small birds and some large ones too. I did this by taking the pup to very quiet beaches and letting the pup chase the hundreds of shoreline birds until it just about dropped from exhaustion. No dog I've ever known can catch shoreline wading birds.