My dog needs help.

Rolltide93

My dog needs help.

Post by Rolltide93 » Fri Sep 26, 2014 8:19 am

Hey guys I've browsed these forums for about a year now. I bought my first true hunting dog about 8 months ago, so I am new to the whole training side of things. About a month ago I sent Tucker my GSP to a kennel for training, it was supposed to take around 3 to 4 months to complete but I called the guy last night to check on how things were going and the guy said he can't seem to get Tucker to trust him and that Tucker seems to be terrified of him. This is really strange from him because we live on a college campus and we go for walks daily so he is used to loud places and people. The trainer said if he can't get tucker to change in the next few weeks he is going to send him home, but he doesn't want too because he shows so much potential when he is in the field. I just need some advice on what I need to do as an owner to help him. Thanks guys. Also I'm not at all worried about him being mistreated this guy came well recommended and is a friend of a family friend.

GSP4ME

Re: My dog needs help.

Post by GSP4ME » Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:44 am

Before I did anything else, I would go to this guys kennel and see first hand exactly what he's talking about.

DonF
GDF Junkie

Post by DonF » Tue Sep 30, 2014 9:42 am

yep, go see what's going on. Did you take your pup out to open places and let him run while you had him? Could be he's just having aa problem adjusting to the situation and seemingly loss of his owner. I suspect he'll come around!
I pity the man that has never been loved by a dog!

Rolltide93

Post by Rolltide93 » Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:36 am