Springer Problem - Laying down on "Hup"

Montana

Springer Problem - Laying down on "Hup"

Post by Montana » Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:05 pm

I have an 8 month old male springer I've been working with who lays down when I give the "Hup" command... He's fine when he is on a leash by my side... He'll "Hup" and stay sitting for several minutes... If I move around in front of him a few feet he'll remain sitting, but as soon as I drop the leash or move more than 4 or 5 feet away he lays down... I go back and lift him up into a sitting position, praise him up, etc. but so far it hasn't solved the problem... I've been working on this for the past two weeks every day without much success. I've had many Springers over the past 25 years or so and have never encountered this problem.. I'm a patient trainer and use a very gentle approach.... Springers can be a bit soft, but this guy really isn't....very happy, well adjusted dog, but I don't want him sitting when I give the command to sit... Any suggestions?

gonehuntin'
GDF Junkie

Re: Springer Problem - Laying down on "Hup"

Post by gonehuntin' » Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:51 pm

Well, you could take this or leave it. I'm not as soft a trainer as you are. When I have a dog that does that, I teach them to sit up. First, teach them down, then teach them sit up. I teach them sit up by gently stepping on their front toes and commanding sit up. I know it seems counter intuitive to cure a problem by teaching the command that's causing your problem, but that's the way it's done.
LIFE WITHOUT BIRD DOGS AND FLY RODS REALLY ISN'T LIFE AT ALL.

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Post by Sharon » Sat Jun 28, 2014 8:12 pm

I'm no expert on spaniels but I have read that the pup's lying down will not automatically change to hup over time, by you moving the dog up.