How to condition to E-collar?

Soilman

How to condition to E-collar?

Post by Soilman » Thu Feb 06, 2014 2:30 pm

I have a Boykin that just turned 1 year old. I've been training him sans e-collars, but just purchased a sportdog model to re-enforce commands. This is my first attempt at training a retriever, so I'm taking it cautiouly so as to minimize mess ups. I plan on using the e-collar sparingly...to firm up commands the dog already knows, but sometimes decides to get stubborn about. My question is, how is the best way to "introduce" the dog to the e-collar? Do I just strap it on, and wait until the dog balks on a known command, then zap him with the lowest setting and adjust from there, or is there a better way to go about it? Do I need to strap it on and let him wear it a while to get used to it first? I assume I should start out with the "tone-zap" to begin with, then, once he gets the idea, try using tone only?

DoubleBarrel GunDogs

Re: How to condition to E-collar?

Post by DoubleBarrel GunDogs » Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:21 pm

Soilman wrote:I have a Boykin that just turned 1 year old. I've been training him sans e-collars, but just purchased a sportdog model to re-enforce commands. This is my first attempt at training a retriever, so I'm taking it cautiouly so as to minimize mess ups. I plan on using the e-collar sparingly...to firm up commands the dog already knows, but sometimes decides to get stubborn about. My question is, how is the best way to "introduce" the dog to the e-collar?

By using the sequential steps of proven training program.

Do I just strap it on, and wait until the dog balks on a known command, then zap him with the lowest setting and adjust from there,

This is likely to end in disaster.

or is there a better way to go about it?

Yes, begin by attending a seminar or seek the help of a pro trainer.
George Hickox has a seminar in your area in April. Check out his website: www.georgehickox.com