Young dog training/question

bmacbass

Young dog training/question

Post by bmacbass » Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:30 am

Hello everyone,

I am new to training and have a 9 month old GSP. I introduced him to birds at 3 months and fired a 22 blank while he chased live birds. He didn't seem to be shy at all. Then at about 8 months I started planting quail and having him find them. His point is awesome but when the bird flushes, he doesn't chase and seems somewhat scared. I have done this with him 3-4 times and the results have all been about the same. I haven't shot over him yet because I don't think he is very bold at the moment. He gets very excited when we go but when the field gets thick, he seems to slow way down and walk with me more than hunt. What are your thoughts.

Hotpepper

Demeanor

Post by Hotpepper » Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:39 am

1, What is his demeanor?

2. Is he not interested in the bird flying away.

3. Is he sulking and cowering?

A little more information will help.

If he is just standing there and watching them fly away is not a bad thing. Might be very easy to break to wing and shot.

Continue to bang pans while he is feeding and at times away from the dog. Blanking shots from a long ways off will tell you a lot. Go very slow.

Jerry
2009 NGSPA National Champion R/U
OFA Good 06/09
3 years of Age

http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=2071

Jeremiah 29:11

God says He has Plans for Me

sharptailhunter

Post by sharptailhunter » Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:49 am