Please help a first time trainer.

huntinghusker

Please help a first time trainer.

Post by huntinghusker » Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:55 pm

I am a first time dog trainer and have two 5 month old yellow lab pups, Henry and Hannah. Having two of them raises its own problems mostly the will not retrieve anything when they are together. They are trained in basic obedience, sit, stay, come, heel, etc. Those are not the main problem I took Henry Dove hunting for the first time, it was a really slow evening, and I only got one and missed another, but he did not see that one fall. So I took him down to go get the bird, he found it and took off on a dead sprint. I chased him down and got him to stop after about 50 yards. I made him give me the bird, and congratulated him when he got it. I them played a little fetch with bird and did get him, very hesitantly and only one to get him to bring it back. I am looking for a way to fix this, and I suspect that Hannah will attempt to do the same thing. I believe that my main problem is that they were not introduced to birds, as much as they introduced themselves to birds in the form of chickens. They ate those chickens, and learned that it tastes good. I am wondering how to go about fixing this. I don't think that walking away would help, because he doesn't want me to chase him, he just just wants to eat the bird. Any help would be appreciated, Thank You.

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: Please help a first time trainer.

Post by Sharon » Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:15 pm

Suggestion #!: Work with one dog for now. Don't have the other one around when training the dog.

Suggestion#2: Buy a programme and stick to it. I like "Perfect Start. Perfect Finish".

https://www.google.ca/search?sourceid=n ... oKmI&pbx=1
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

Del Lolo

Post by Del Lolo » Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:54 pm

For now, train the dogs seperately.