bird training what now?

mister2

bird training what now?

Post by mister2 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:46 am

Ok so I've been training my dog on pigeons a couple times a week for almost 2 months now. He will stop on scent and stay put for up to a minute. If i try to move up from the side he will move or give chase. I release the bird as soon as he moves. What do I do now? How do I get him to stay put long enough for me to flush the bird? He is always on a checkcord, I don't think he would stop if he wasn't.

Doc E

Re: bird training what now?

Post by Doc E » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:49 pm

De-chasing is your answer.

Doc E & HR UH MHR WR SR Black Forest Casey
and
Nami E & HRCH UH HR Sauk River Tucker

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Post by Sharon » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:04 pm

How old is your dog?
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

4dabirds

Post by 4dabirds » Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:03 pm

Sounds to me like you have put the cart before the horse. The dog has trained you to follow him to the birds, then he does what comes naturally ,point then chase. You need to get on a consistent training program that establishes benchmarks for training at the next level. Hickox, Smith etc.

mister2

Post by mister2 » Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:49 am

My GSP is 1.5yrs.

By de-chasing do you mean let him chase and then correct via e-collar? I've been following the Perfect Start video and as far as I can see, I think I'm doing basically the same thing. I checkcord him in until he gives me an indication that he smells the bird, if he stops then great, if he doesn't stop then I stop him with the checkcord, once he's stopped if he tries to move again I release the bird. What am I doing wrong here? What are the benchmarks? Thanks.

justsomedude

Post by justsomedude » Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:54 am

mister2 wrote:My GSP is 1.5yrs.