New - to everything

APage

New - to everything

Post by APage » Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:56 am

I've owned GSP's most of my life. I've never hunted birds with a dog. ever. We recently adopted a GSP who is reportedly trained to hunt. From the research I've done I can tell he has some training but he's lazy or sloppy. Mac is 5 years old he was surrendered after the people that adopted him 3 years earlier had a baby and decided they didn't have time for him. Mac is STRONG - he has more muscle mass than any GSP that I've seen. He has very few leash manners. I take him out the door and his nose is on the ground and he's pulling me around. I need tips on how to get him under control. Once I get him in the field he will run circles back to me. I've seen him point on his own. I don't know the commands he was trained for so I need to start somewhere but don't know where since I'm totally new to this. I've given the whoa command and he freezes until I tell him okay - except for his head. I know I need to get him following basic commands and be able to control him better but I'm not sure how to even start training leash manners when he's pulling me around on a regular leash. As soon as we walk out the door he's on the hunt- nose to the ground. In the field with the e collar he comes back to me immediately usually with just the tone or if needed the lowest stimulation. I've been trying to research where to start and everything I come up with is for puppies and who would be much easier to control on a leash. Any help or advice or links to information about training older dogs would be much appreciated.

zoey'sonlyhope

Re: New - to everything

Post by zoey'sonlyhope » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:18 pm