NAVHDA NA test help

Vaoutdoors42

NAVHDA NA test help

Post by Vaoutdoors42 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:19 am

I have a GSP names "Jackson" who I am considering testing in the Natural Ability test this April in Maryland (Potomac Chapter). I am new to training and have a few questions in regards to the test. The pup will be 9 months at test time.

The major concern I have is the water phase. The temps are really low here in Northern Virginia and having a pup in cold water doesnt seem like a good way to train. He did have water intro when a small pup and has swam at a very young age but with the cold water how do you train for this? I am working on keeping him excited for bumpers and he gets fun bumpers everytime we train so he loves them so I am trying to keep cultivating that passion for retrieving. I know dog doesnt have to retrieve but getting him excited about the object will help possibly overcome the cold water? What things can help have him love the water?

What is the best training method for the tracking phase? I have heard many dogs have issues "breaking" cover to stay on track. Would it be best to start walking through the high cover and having pup follow me or just try to drag birds through it and see how it goes?

Thanks

crackerd

Re: NAVHDA NA test help

Post by crackerd » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:44 am

Let's address the water end of the test first - theoretically in a "Natural Ability" test, there oughtn't be any training to begin with. (Natural ability - remember? - not the Trained Ability Test. I know NAVHDA's system's been ginned by experienced handlers with "precocious" pups.)