How old is too old?

Rock_Binder

How old is too old?

Post by Rock_Binder » Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:36 am

Please forgive me if this is in the wrong place.
I just acquired a Black Lab from my a friend of mine, however he claims that he's been started but I'm not so sure. How old is too old to take a lab back to the basics of obedience then build from there to make a good duck dog?
The dog in question is currently just over 1 year old and is ok with basic house manners (sit, stay, here) but will not work off lead or anything for retrieves other than a basic game of fetch with a tennis ball.
Now I won't lie, I'm new to training a waterfowl dog but not to basic obedience or hunting so any information that you guys can point me to for reference after basic training would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
--Rock Binder

SeniorCoot

Re: How old is too old?

Post by SeniorCoot » Fri Dec 30, 2011 5:35 am

Just started helping a hunting buddy with a similar dog-he got it from the pound at about 1yr- we have hunted it twice- both times with my dogs-(labs) we first determined that it was NOT gun shy and went from there- it is learning to quarter from my boys and seems to have a good nose-OB is good and with a whistle or two stays in range- problem is with retrieves- doesn't do it and drops birds when ever he feels like it SO i will take him home and FF him- that should take care of that problem and with more experience at game farm he should ne an OK meat dog.

A_LOTA_NOTA

Post by A_LOTA_NOTA » Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:37 am

I am also starting with an older dog. He will be 3 years old in April. I got him from a rescue a week ago. He is pretty good with his obedience and loves to fetch his tennis ball. I have had him in the field a few times, although he has not figured out what we are hunting yet, his drive gets stronger with each trip out. I am going to put him on pigeons this weekend. Hopefully that goes well but if not I can FF him and he will make a great retriever.