Suburbanite training questions

Lukenbill

Suburbanite training questions

Post by Lukenbill » Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:39 am

I have an 8 month old english springer spaniel that I've been working with on my own since we brought her home. I've read many articles on training, watched a few of the DVD's and read the "Urban Gundog" training book. So I'm still a novice, but a least a little more informed. My dog's doing great with her training and I'm nothing but impressed with how well she's learning despite my lack of abilities but I'm worried that I'm going to run into a wall with my abilities to train her to the next level.

Currently she's in the process of mastering everything up through retrieving on the quarter. Next on the list is working with birds and introduction to gunfire (ie poppers/blanks/primers...she's only done cap guns so far). This is where I'm concerned I'm going to lack resources.

I'd like to get her working with birds before I introduce her to gunfire but I live in a development on the edge of town. I don't have the area for a proper pigeon coup and there aren't any clubs that I'm aware of around me. Taking her to somewhere that would train her professionally the rest of the way isn't really an option as she's also very much a family dog and isn't bread specifically for hunting. Would it be beneficial to just take her to a local game preserve and have them plant some chukar for me and do that once every couple of weeks to mix it in with her dummy training?

I'm trying to figure out what would be the most effective way to get her to work her way up to hunting ruffed grouse and pheasants and still be able to work on training on a fairly regular basis.

Secondly, any tips on asking complete strangers (farmers and development owners) if I could use their unused field/CRP land for training my pup?

Thank you in advance for any help your able to provide!

Dashin Gun Dogs

Re: Suburbanite training questions