Gun shy 6 month old lab

Double U Ranch

Gun shy 6 month old lab

Post by Double U Ranch » Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:20 am

I am a first time trainer. I am attempting to train a well bred black labrador gun dog. He is six months old and i have been working with him since he was 3 months. He is retrieving very well, picks up scents very well, but has shown signs of gun shyness. I have a neighbor who sights in his guns in the backend of our properties. He has been roughly 200 yds away when i have been working with him and when he shoots the dog will pin his ears back and want to get away.... I have shot a cap gun over him while working with him and he does not seem to be too bothered, he will look, but then will heed my command....