FF and the GSP

windswept

FF and the GSP

Post by windswept » Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:57 pm

I have long been a believer in FF. I have never done it though. I have always paid a trainer to do it.
I have dipped my toe into a new breed, a GSP and it has been my intention to do the FF myself this time. I thought I'd buy SmartFetch and give it a try. A few weeks ago I read on one of the boards I visit (maybe this one) a comment from a former pro that said in his opinion a GSP is the toughest breed to FF. What do those of you who have worked with a number of different breeds think? Is this really the case?
Thanks.

gonehuntin'
GDF Junkie

Re: FF and the GSP

Post by gonehuntin' » Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:24 pm

I also agree that the GSP is the hardest of the breeds to ff. But, here's the deal. If you ff the dog, try to do it with as LITTLE pressure as possible. If you get into a battle of wills with a GSP, you'll lose.

When I was a pro, many moons ago, we didn't have the variable intensity collars. Everyting was done with the 70. When I'd see a GSP come in, I"d cry. We trained all gun dogs, retrievers, spaniels, and pointers and no matter what anyone may tell you, the GSP was the worst of the lot.

The key is to keep the pressure low but make them do it. You can go it by following Smart Fetch. Evan uses the correct amount of pressure on the dogs. Study him and watch exactly how much pressure he's using and you'll be fine. Don't let it scare you.
LIFE WITHOUT BIRD DOGS AND FLY RODS REALLY ISN'T LIFE AT ALL.

snips
GDF Junkie

Post by snips » Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:04 pm

I could not disagree more that the GSP is hard to FF...But I do not use a ecollar.
brenda

EvanG

Post by EvanG » Mon Jan 04, 2010 9:07 pm

windswept wrote:I have long been a believer in FF. I have never done it though. I have always paid a trainer to do it.