Which book to use?????

T2Georgia

Which book to use?????

Post by T2Georgia » Tue May 04, 2004 12:38 pm

I am sure there are many opinions for this, but can you recommend a few good books to read regarding the "how to" of training a GSP for hunting?

I am new to training hunting dogs, but believe I have found my new passion!

Thanks in advance and happy hunting.

T2

grant
GDF Junkie

Post by grant » Tue May 04, 2004 12:53 pm

I don't know of any books, but this is a great video!

http://www.gundogsupply.com/perstarbirdo.html

It covers:

# Understand how your dog learns
# Teaching here, heel and whoa
# Evaluation of your dog's natural abilities
# Why your dog does the things he does and how this effects training
# Introduction to Birds, backing and guns
# Enhance the natural pointing instincts in your dog
# Enhancing and encouraging the natural retrieving abilities in your dog
# Proper use of the electronic collar Tired of whoa posts and barrels?

Tired of videos showing already trained dogs in "mock" training situations? Tired of videos that only show the select best dogs? In this video, "We don't pick 'em, We just train 'em!"

Learn from the best, with in-depth explanation and live training examples of all key points of starting your bird dog. Understand how your dog learns, teach here, heel and whoa, and evaluate your dog's natural abilities. Understand why your dog does the things he does and how this affects training. Use the introduction to birds, backing and guns. Enhance the natural pointing instincts in your dog. Enhance and encourage the natural retrieving abilities in your dog. This video also shows the proper use of the electronic collar.

This video features Jon and Cindy Hann, owners and operators of a pointing dog training facility.

"The Perfect Start" - 2 Hours 31 minutes

Opening to the Perfect Start
Equipment
Head Tucking Birds
First time out
First Retrieves
Introduction to Birds
Using Bird Releasers
Electronic Collar Introduction