Butting heads with my springer

BaxtersBuddy

Butting heads with my springer

Post by BaxtersBuddy » Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:09 pm

Hopefully someone here can give me some advice. I have a male springer who just turned one. I started training him for grouse and pheasant at about six months of age and am hoping he's ready by opener in a week.

Anyway, the problem is this. He's always been extremely obedient and eager to please. If he would get to far away while in the wood training or just walking, I'd give a signal, usually "whoe" and he would stop, turn, and come back. Then, two days ago I took him out for a routine practice hunt. He would constantly run off and completely ignore me when I commanded him to stop and when I called for him after he disappeared. He would be gone for 2 or 3 minutes at a time before he came back. I took him back out tonight and it was the same thing. This time it was a different area and he was gone for a good 5 minutes. I have no idea what brought this on or what to do about it. The hundred times I've taken him in the woods prior to this, he's been extremely obedient. Now this. I have no idea where this behavior came from. Any ideas on how to remedy this problem?

Thanks.

Sean B.

BaxtersBuddy

Re: Butting heads with my springer

Post by BaxtersBuddy » Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:23 pm

Another question I had was is it to late to start using a whistle on my springer. As I said, he's just over a year old and I've already trained him with verbal commands and hand signals. And, I suppose there are threads relating to this somewhere here, but is using a whistle better than verbal??? It seems like it would be easier to get his attention with a whistle than wearing out my voice shouting commands all the time.

gonehuntin'
GDF Junkie

Post by gonehuntin' » Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:48 pm