Brand New

Kodiakk

Brand New

Post by Kodiakk » Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:34 pm

Hey folks I'm from a little north of Houston. I'm brand new to upland training and eager to get into it. I just brought home a 8 week old Brittany boy last weekend. I have a bit of experience showing in the AKC ring when I was a teenager and trained retrievers and went to retriever hunting tests also. I hope you folks don't mind a few questions.

I'm joining the local Brittany club, but the website seems to not be used since last year. I was wondering if there was a website with all the different clubs upcoming hunting trials. I would like to go to some hunting tests to learn some more, see what is expected, and meet some folks. Where do I find this kind of information?

I come from Alaska. I've never been around poisonus snakes before so that is a real concern for my dog. How old should my pup be before I take him to one of the snake avoidance classes. From what I've read they are never to young. Is this correct?

I notice a huge difference down here in terms of land. Up in Alaska and Oregon there were tons of land to just roam. Down here in Texas I notice everything is owned and costs huge amounts of money to use. Is there any hints on where there is some land to let my pup run free? I've been looking online for bird hunting clubs in the area, but I haven't had much luck. Everything I've found is land used for serious hunting and cost a arm and a leg. Is $1,000 a year to low of a figure to find some decent places to hunt/train? Any clues on where is a good place to start looking?

Anyone got some clues on where to find birds to train with around the Houston area? I'm trying to prepare to have everything in place for when it's time to start working with my pup. I did order some books and videos that I've read on here folks thought were good.