New to training...buying a brittany.

nowicki2005

New to training...buying a brittany.

Post by nowicki2005 » Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:58 am

I am buying a brittany from a liter that is to be born sometime here in mid june and will be taking it home in early-mid august. I have never owned a bird dog so I am totally new to the training aspect. I am trying to look for some sort of guide as to when stuff should start being taught, a rough guide. I know that a lot of it depends on how quickly your dog grasps things etc.... but what I would like to know is when some of you start training yourr dogs.

For example: at 8 weekss....then at 12 weeks......then 16 etc........ Also, any other tips, general info, advice or comments about brittanys would be welcomed.

jeckel

Re: New to training...buying a brittany.

Post by jeckel » Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21 am

Chief's Brittanies has a great how to train section on their website that starts at 8 weeks and goes up to 8 months. It has video and troubleshooting tips.
http://brittanys.com/Brittany_training.htm#8weeksup

kninebirddog
GDF Premier Member!

Post by kninebirddog » Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:22 pm

http://www.gundogforum.com/index.php?page=gdfarticle19
http://www.gundogforum.com/index.php?page=gdfarticle21

also research this board there is a bunch of great info and help

biggest thing is have fun seek some trials near you there is NSTRA and AKC and AF NAVDHA hunt tests extra where you can see some other dogs in action to give you a better perspective as to what you may desire

also talk to your breeder..hopefully they can guide you with soem helpful advice our who the reccomend if your not close enough

where are you located
"I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all."
"When I hear somebody talk about a horse or cow being stupid, I figure its a sure sign that the animal has outfoxed them." Tom Dorrance