Puppy exercise and growth plates.

fishvik

Post by fishvik » Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:32 pm

One of the guys I hunt with told me that he has heard that taking a pup under 1yo old out in the field more than a couple of times a month can lead to knee problems because the growth plates don't develop correctly. Anybody else heard, or know about this cause it was sure new to me. I know running a young dog on a hard surface can cause problems.

RatDog

Post by RatDog » Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:59 pm

I’m pretty new at this but I have only ever heard that doing actual “road work” like putting the dog in a harness and forcing it to run extended distances for pre-season conditioning isn’t advisable before a year.

The idea that hunting in the field could be detrimental sounds like baloney to me. It is what they’d be doing naturally anyway right?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by RatDog on Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: Puppy exercise and growth plates.

Post by Sharon » Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:28 pm

I support the thought that roading a dog under a year old is unwise. 14-16 months is recommended.
Running in the field is far different from a forced pace in a roading harness.

https://www.google.com/search?q=damaged ... e&ie=UTF-8
" We are more than our gender, skin color, class, sexuality or age; we are unlimited potential, and can not be defined by one label." quote A. Bartlett

birddogger2

Post by birddogger2 » Mon Oct 19, 2020 6:46 pm

fishvik wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:32 pm
One of the guys I hunt with told me that he has heard that taking a pup under 1yo old out in the field more than a couple of times a month can lead to knee problems because the growth plates don't develop correctly. Anybody else heard, or know about this cause it was sure new to me. I know running a young dog on a hard surface can cause problems.