Diamond Naturals Extreme Athlete

CoolHandLukeGSP

Post by CoolHandLukeGSP » Sat Sep 13, 2014 8:30 pm

Anyone feeding this? I am looking to take my pup off of the Diamond naturals Puppy and put him on this as we get ready to start hunting season. Just curious about the feeding recommendations, which is a lot less than the puppy food.

cjhills
GDF Junkie

Re: Diamond Naturals Extreme Athlete

Post by cjhills » Sat Sep 13, 2014 9:13 pm

I did not have real good luck with extreme athlete. The dogs always had loose stools. I feed Diamond performance and the do very well on that. I may have fed to much........................Cj

shags
GDF Junkie

Post by shags » Sun Sep 14, 2014 4:15 am

I've been feeding EA for a 2-3 years now and don't have any intention to switch to something else. Six dogs (15 months - 12 years+) and no complaints. Overfeeding can be a problem, stools can get sloppy, so start with a smaller portion and gradually add more until you get to that sweet spot. Feeding smaller amounts twice a day keeps my hard keepers in good weight without messy stools.
My youngest dog has been on EA from eight weeks old.
EA is easily available in my area at a good price. I like the consistency of the product, it doesn't seem to change color or odor from bag to bag.

Brazosvalleyvizslas

Post by Brazosvalleyvizslas » Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:00 am

I have been feeding it for a few years and love it but it is getting hard to find locally so I may have to switch. :cry:

Lucky Dog

Post by Lucky Dog » Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:12 pm

I've always fed Diamond Naturals chicken and rice.
I have one pointer that just would never put on any weight, so a month ago I put him on Extreme Athlete, I swear within a week I could see a difference. After a month, he is perfect on weight, and his energy is off the charts.

I'm sold. :D

cutty72

Post by cutty72 » Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:05 pm

Loved the extreme athlete until it got difficult to find locally.