Breeding GSP's

0311beginner

Breeding GSP's

Post by 0311beginner » Tue May 22, 2012 8:02 pm

I would love to eventually breed my female GSP. However since I have no personal experience in breeding, and won't even be considering it for a while, I want to learn as much as I can. Why not start here? Firstly my female is just now shy of a year and our vet who also raises GSP's advised us to wait until at least two years of age. Is this a common practice? And if so what's the reason behind it? Secondly I'd like to know if breeding should be held within her same coloring? I've heard that with other breeds, mixing coat coloring can have a negative impact on the litters long term health. Again, with no experience in this area I'd rather be safe and learn as much as possible before we even think about breeding her. Any other tips or advice, lessons learned, etc. would be greatly appreciated!
-Brandon and Stacy

TraditionsGSPs2010

Re: Breeding GSP's

Post by TraditionsGSPs2010 » Tue May 22, 2012 8:16 pm

I commend you for reaching out for suggestions and information regarding breeding. Judging by the questions you are asking, I would suggest you start at your local library with some books written by professionals about the do's and don'ts. I would also try to get paired up with a local breed club and see if someone would be interested in mentoring you.
David Hughes
Traditions Shorthairs

The Will of God will never take you where the Grace of God will not protect you.

cjhills
GDF Junkie

Post by cjhills » Tue May 22, 2012 9:43 pm

Our females generally don't come into their first heat until close to 18 months,some earlier. WE never breed on the first heat. We want her to be more mature. The second heat is generally about two years. You cannot do OFA hip X-rays until at least 24 months. although you can do preliminary or Pennhip at a younger age. There are several other health test such as eyes, heart and some others that are bloodline and breed specific.