Ruger red label 20g

Wagner

Ruger red label 20g

Post by Wagner » Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:06 pm

I am new to upland hunting and recently put a deposit down on a rrl 20g. The salesman told me that this gun shouldl be a better choice over the 12g when hunting upland game behind a Dog. My question is the 20g enough firepower.

Wagner

Re: Ruger red label 20g

Post by Wagner » Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:35 am

So can you expect to shoot better with a 12g. My worry is that I might chose the wrong gun and at this price it will have to last a while. When I tell my friends what I am getting they seem suprised and tell me to get a 12g. I like the way the gun feels and the finish. So can this gun fufull an upland bird hunters requirments. By the way my buddies never hunt behind dogs.

Wagner

Post by Wagner » Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:56 am

I have red the debates on this forum about 20g vs 12g, more specifcally looking for RRL choices...

Thanks in advance by the way what a great site here I have learned so much in a short amount of time!

romeo212000

Post by romeo212000 » Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:15 am

You can hunt anything upland with a 12 or 20 gauge. That said if you are going after something bigger I would suggest a 12 gauge. Anything else I would say you are fine with a 20 gauge. Trust me there is more than enough fire power to bring any upland bird down.A lot of people are more worried about fire power when they should be worried about pattern. And that comes down to the load more than the gun. Too many people overload their gun and end up wasting shot and destroying the pattern. The ideal load with a 12 gauge to get the best pattern geometrically is a 1 oz load traveling approximately 1100 fps. For 20 ga it is a 7/8 oz load traveling roughly the same speed. I have killed many birds with both loads and no problems. Fact is more people need to learn how to shoot rather than thinking that loading up extra hot shells will make up for their lack of skill.