Outside kennels, what would you do different

PoorMansWrangler

Outside kennels, what would you do different

Post by PoorMansWrangler » Sat Jan 30, 2021 9:38 am

Hey guys, just picked up a set of 10x10 kennels for my outdoor kennels. While I know spring is a long way off, I’m trying to start planning the build now. Plan is to pour concrete, and separate the one 10x10 kennel into two 5x10 kennels. Dogs will be outside during the day while I’m at work, but will be inside at night. Plan on building houses for the dogs, and I already have the chain roofs as well as sunshades. For those with outside kennels, if you could change anything about your current set up, what would it be?

shags
GDF Junkie

Re: Outside kennels, what would you do different

Post by shags » Sat Jan 30, 2021 10:25 am

I don't have outside kennels, but I have about 60 years experience working in large boarding/training facilities.

Put tops on them. One kennel owner came out to find his pointer missing, and eventually found her up in the rafters above the indoor kennels. If she had been outside, she would have been gone.

Put a broomed finish on the floors. One owner thought a smooth slick finish would be easier to keep clean, but it horrible and dangerous to man, woman, and beast when it was wet or God forgive, frosty or a little icy. It was a tad bit cleaner to scrape poop, but no easier to hose down than the rough finish.

If you have males, think about a solid barrier between kennels, maybe 27-30 inches or so. Some of those boys have firehoses and can really mess up their own run plus the ones on either side of them. Some guys are dainty about where they go and they stay clean on their own, but get really nasty smelly from the neighbors. Yuck. Also, a little wall there can keep water buckets clean. Like I said, firehoses. More yuck.

birddogger2

Post by birddogger2 » Sat Jan 30, 2021 10:26 am