Steady to flush or Steady to shot ?

oilcan

Steady to flush or Steady to shot ?

Post by oilcan » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:17 pm

I would like some opinions on this.
So with the season ending i have been debating on how to finish off my GSP this coming summer-fall.
Currently he is steady to Flush ( most of the time) and has a natural retrieve he is 10 months old now.
No trials he will be a foot hunting dog only.

So what are the Pro's and Con's of getting him steady to shot?
For a Hunting Dog what are you guys doing?
I am pretty new to this so i want t to make sure i make an educated decision and do it right the first time.
He is a smart dog with very good bloodlines so i would like to get the most out of him that i can but i'm
not sure of all the benefits of getting him steady to shot.
Thanks

deseeker

Re: Steady to flush or Steady to shot ?

Post by deseeker » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:42 pm

It is safer for the dog if he doesn't go until the shot. If he goes with the flush there is a chance he might be real close to the bird when your hunting buddy gets excited and takes a shot at the bird :evil: . Also if he doesn't go until the shot----he won't be chasing after a hen and runs up a bunch of roosters out of range :cry: Also if a bunch get up at the same time, if he stands until the shot, he'll be able to pick out the bird that falls --- instead of chasing and being totally focused on the first bird out of the grass. Also if he stays to the shot, there is a good chance the will stop to flush on birds that just pop up---since you trained him to stand still on flying birds until a gun goes off.

I like to have them stand thru the fall and wait until they're sent for the retrieve, but that is just me. Train it however you'll be happy with it 8)

roaniecowpony

Post by roaniecowpony » Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:29 am