New Guy - Help Pick My Pup!

BoonDock

New Guy - Help Pick My Pup!

Post by BoonDock » Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:37 am

Hello all,

I am new to the gundog world and came here seeking advice. I grew up hunting preserve birds over the backs of some great German Shorthairs that a family friend owned. I never had any experience training them, but I sure loved hunting with them. Well, I moved off to college and haven't experienced the fun of that style hunting in years. Long story short, my GSP was born last week and I get to go pick him out (1st pick of 6 males) next weekend. What should I be looking for in a pup this age? I live on a 600 acre farm and the pup will have plenty of room to run and work. I plan to train him using the "Perfect Start / Perfect Finish" method. I am also looking for a used copy of the DVD series! I plan to work with him daily and have access to birds through a local outfitter. What should I be looking for?

kninebirddog
GDF Premier Member!

Re: New Guy - Help Pick My Pup!

Post by kninebirddog » Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:39 pm

I would ask the Breeder to help you pick after all they have raised the pups and should have a some idea of which pups are more respective of their place in the pack versus the one always trying to be top dog.
Starting out you do not want an alpha type dog...they are a challenge and will always be more apt to test you as to who is the leader of the pack. this isn't something that can always be seen when you come look at a litter for maybe an hour.
Good Luck

Aslowhiteguy

Post by Aslowhiteguy » Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:46 pm

kninebirddog wrote:I would ask the Breeder to help you pick after all they have raised the pups and should have a some idea of which pups are more respective of their place in the pack versus the one always trying to be top dog.