What's the skinny on futurities?

Stoneface

What's the skinny on futurities?

Post by Stoneface » Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:28 pm

I've never understood how futurities work or what is so special about them. Can someone explain it to me? I'm new to trialing and green in more ways than I'd like to mention, but I have the gist of it. I understand the different formats and how they're ran and the different classes, but I guess one thing I just flat don't get is futurities. Can someone clue me in?
www.PoetryShootingClub.com
www.StonefaceKennels.com
----------
"I have found it far more pleasuable pursuing the game with a fine dog and enjoying his performance than the actual shooting." -Robert G. Wehle

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Re: What's the skinny on futurities?

Post by RayGubernat » Thu Sep 27, 2012 7:40 am

Stoneface wrote:I've never understood how futurities work or what is so special about them. Can someone explain it to me? I'm new to trialing and green in more ways than I'd like to mention, but I have the gist of it. I understand the different formats and how they're ran and the different classes, but I guess one thing I just flat don't get is futurities. Can someone clue me in?
Stoneface -

A futurity is an act of faith on the part of the breeder. It is, in essence, a select open derby stake with a payout for the breeder as well as the handler. The breeder by registering the litter is saying: "This litter is bred to win." And they are putting their money where their mouth is. Very often, the breeder will retain a pup or two from that litter to be run in the futurity.