Tent Hunters

M1Tanker

Tent Hunters

Post by M1Tanker » Fri Jan 01, 2010 9:23 pm

Even though I live in the heart of grouse country, I do spend 4 days in a tent every year in Wisconsin...the other place where there are no birds.

I have been camping a an old Coleman dome tent for 10 years and it has finally given up the ghost this year so I am looking to replace it.

I have a gift card for Cabelas from Christmas and am looking at this tent:

Cabela's Outback Lodge

It shows good reviews but I would like to hear form other tent hunters out there what you think?

I hunt with a large group but we all have our own tents. I was thinking this one and a Buddy Heater would do well for myself.

Any opinions from those who tent it?

Greg Jennings
GDF Junkie

Re: Tent Hunters

Post by Greg Jennings » Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:51 pm

Don't know about the tent, but can highly recommend the Coleman BlackCat tent heaters. They'll about run you out of the tent even in bitter cold temps.

Az Draht

Post by Az Draht » Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:53 am

I would go with another Coleman (you got 10 yrs out of yours)and throw a tarp that is big enough to touch the ground on each side over it to aid in heat retention and storm protection. Then I would use the gift card for other goodies

My first $60 Coleman tent I got 18 years out of it. Nothing wrong with it, I just upgraded to a bigger one ($70). I have never had a trip ruined because of my tent. You may say "but you live in AZ". Well most of my camping trips in my life have been winter camping in northern MN.

Shadow

Post by Shadow » Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:02 am

I did quite a bit of camp hunting- like the cheap ones like the Coleman 7'X7 or such worked nice- aren't out so much if they get damaged- elk hunting we used the Gabelas Outfitters Guide- nice- as in the one you posted very nice tent- that's quite a tent you posted- go for it- cook stove with chimney would do nicely

gravedigger

Post by gravedigger » Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:28 am