Greetings from a WPG future owner.

UtahJarhead

Greetings from a WPG future owner.

Post by UtahJarhead » Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:49 am

Name is UtahJarhead, but I won't tell you what state I live in nor if I've ever served in the military.

I've finally gotten rid of my 2 cats so I've met the criteria from my wife to get a hunting partner. I'm in the process of buying a Wirehaired Pointing Griffon. She will be a hunting dog second, family dog first. I'm introducing myself because I think it's appropriate since I've used you guys as a personal resource in the past and found great info and anecdotes.

I'm a software programmer, an NRA Pistol and Rifle instructor, Range Safety Officer, and qualified expert in the Corps (10 years ago!). I like big game more than anything, but apparently WPGs are lazy and won't pull an elk back to camp. Sounds like they'll have to be whipped into shape.

Thanks for being a good resource!

SwitchGrassWPG

Re: Greetings from a WPG future owner.

Post by SwitchGrassWPG » Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:59 pm

You may want to check out Versatile Dogs Forum as well for info.
Only thing worse than a bad dog is no dog at all...

http://www.switchgrasswpg.com

rkappes

Post by rkappes » Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:13 pm

Welcome...GDF is a great site, wealth of knowledge. Thanks for serving~! Post a picture of that dog when you get him or her.

mountaindogs
GDF Junkie

Post by mountaindogs » Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:55 am

Welcome! Definatly share pictues.

landonman

Post by landonman » Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:23 pm